Journal of Chromatography A

NEWS SECTION

INTERNATIONAL ION CHROMATOGRAPHY SYMPOSIUM 1998, OSAKA, JAPAN 28 SEPTEMBER-1 OCTOBER 1998



Fig. 1. The Scientific Committee: front row (from left to right), Kazuhiko Tanaka, National Industrial Research Institute of Nagoya, Japan; James Fritz, Iowa State University, USA; Purnendu Dasgupta, Texas Tech University, USA; Hamish Small, HSR, USA; Program Chairman, Kikuo Oikawa, Niigata College of Pharmacy, Japan; Lynn Vanatta, Air Liquide America, USA; back row (from left to right), Paul Haddad, University of Tasmania, Australia; Rebecca Adams, Dow Chemical, USA; Christopher Pohl, Dionex Corporation, USA; Charles Lucy, University of Calgary, Canada; Mou Shifen, Academia Sinica, China.

0021-9673/99/\$ – see front matter $\,$ © 1999 Elsevier Science B.V. All rights reserved. PII: S0021-9673(99)00769-4

404 News Section



Fig. 2. Purnendu Dasgupta (right), Scientific Chairman, presents the 1998 IC Award to Hamish Small (left) to recognize his invention of ion reflux chromatography.



Fig. 3. Program Chairman Kikuo Oikawa poses with the student award winners (seated, left to right): Ken Yeung, University of Calgary, Canada; Dr. Oikawa; Arety Caliamanis, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia; Emily Hilder, University of Tasmania, Australia; (standing, left to right) Geoff Gerhardt, University of Saskatchewan, Canada; Kevin Cooper, University of Virginia, USA.